Spicy Pie in the Forest

Even while on vacation my love for pizza doesn’t stop.

I recently returned from a week long trip to electric forest in Rothbury, Michigan for weekend one and while constantly on the go from stage to stage, slowing down with a slice of za was the best decision a festival goer could make.

The first day, out of hunger/anger, I found myself in line for a food vendor named “Homeslice.”
They freshly served pizza out of their woodfire oven, which was quite impressive. The line wasn’t a mile and a half long so they won the battle for my hunger. I got my slice and headed to the next stage.
The pepperoni and cheese covered slice fulfilled my hunger but tasted like any other pizza. The woodfire oven gave it a nice crisp on the thin barely there crust but the remainder of the pie was floppy. In other words, eating it without the plate was not going to happen and I needed some napkins. I love my thin pizza, but this was a bit too thin and I was frankly disappointed in the unimpressive-ness of the taste but no longer “Hangry.”
The next day my nose lead me to the legendary Spicy Pie.

Leading up to the festival, my boyfriend was adamant that I try this vendor. He has gone to the festival for 3 years in a row and through our 2 years of dating, he has never lead me wrong when it comes to the serious matter of pizza.
I searched the web for Spicy Pie and found they have 17 years of “za” knowledge under their belts, I couldn’t find how long they’ve been on the festival circuit but I assume quite a bit considering on their website it is implied that this is only what they do and do not have a store front so I feel like it was safe to assume these guys KNOW what they are doing.
On their Facebook, they posted a map of their locations throughout the Electric Forest grounds for their fans (photo below) and kept them updated them on their pie needs and contests. I appreciate this in a business because they created that link between the pie and the people.
First thing I noticed, options. Side note: if a place has only 4 options or less for pizza, its insulting. Your taste-buds deserve flavor. 
Spicy pie offered 6 flavor combinations and caught my eye with their “Hot Lips Hula-Han.” This slice came with pineapples, jalapeno, and crushed red peppers for $7.
The slice was HUGE and packed with flavor! The crust was crispy and fluffy and the slice was not overly thin like the one from Homeslice. The ingredients used were fresh and of quality and the pineapple and spice contrast was more than satisfying. My quest for good pizza was fulfilled.
I wish I could’ve tried their other flavors but I got lost in the music of the forest. I will for sure be returning to the festival, not only for the music, but also for Spicy Pie.


 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: Slice Time

My name is Nizza Pizza and I am your pizza adviser. Follow me through this carnivorous town and let me help you find your next favorite place for pizza in KC.

1 thought on “Spicy Pie in the Forest”

Leave a Reply

